palms
Restaurants & Dining 

 

california search button

 

 

 


 
 

pictured is Costa Produce roadside store in California

 

California Almonds & Almond Growers

February 2011 National Almond Day


100 AD: The Romans showered newlyweds with almonds as a fertility charm. There are documented findings that nutmeats and dried fruits were treated as delicacies of the time, as the cultivation of these foods was not very prevalent.

# 1900 AD: By the 1870s, research and crossbreeding had developed several of today’s prominent almond varieties. By the turn of the 20th century, the almond industry was firmly established in the Sacramento and San Joaquin areas of California’s great Central Valley.
# 2000 AD: In the past 30 years, California’s almond yield has quadrupled. More than half a million acres in the lush San Joaquin and Sacramento valleys are under almond cultivation, stretching 400 miles between Bakersfield and Red Bluff, California. The modern industry of today reveals a different look at almonds. Now focused on highly advanced methods of production sorting, hulling and processing, the industry still maintains its down-to-earth goodness invoked by this simple nut.
# Today: Almonds are California's largest tree nut crop in total dollar value and acreage. They rank as the largest US specialty crop export, as well as the top agricultural export of the state of California.




Nutritional Information
Nutritional analysis per serving.
Calories 400 Fiber 4g
Fat 16g Cholesterol 80mg
Sat Fat 2g Sodium 460mg
Mono Fat 4g Calcium
Poly Fat 4.5g Magnesium
Protein Potassium
Carb Vitamin E
* total alpha-tocopherol equivalents
Type Comment Here
Rating (0)
Save to My Recipes
Send to a Friend
Comments (0)
separator small
Curried Chicken Salad created by: Ellie Krieger cookbook author, "So Easy:Lucious Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week"

servings: 4
ingredients
1/4 cup sliced almonds
1/2 cup nonfat plain yogurt
2 tablespoons mayonnaise
1 teaspoon curry powder
2 1/2 cups cubed cooked chicken breasts
(about 1 1/4 pounds)
1 cup halved red grapes
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
5 ounces mixed greens (about 5 cups lightly packed)
4 lemon wedges
4 ounces pita chips

preparation
Toast the almonds in a small dry skillet over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until fragrant and beginning to turn golden, 2 to 3 minutes.
In a large bowl, stir together the yogurt, mayonnaise, and curry powder. Fold in the chicken, grapes, and cilantro and season with salt and pepper. This salad will keep in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 3 days.
To serve, put a scoop of the chicken salad on a bed of greens on a plate or in a to-go container and sprinkle with the toasted almonds. Add a lemon wedge to squeeze over the greens just before eating. Serve with pita chips, stored in a separate container, if packing.

 
 
Alldrin Brothers, Inc.
Gary Alldrin
P.O. Box 10
Turlock,  CA   95303
Phone: (209) 667-1600
Fax: (209) 667-0463
gary@alldrinbros.com
 
The Almond Company
Scott Eastom,Dave Bazar
P.O. Box 787
Chowchilla,  CA   93610-0787
Phone: (559) 665-4405
Fax: (559) 665-4445
Scott@thealmondcompany.com
 
Almonds All American
Kurtis Upton
168 Canal Drive
Chowchilla,  CA   93610
Phone:
Fax: (559) 665-5279
Almonds California Pride, Inc.

Tony Campos
15516 South Walnut Ave.
Caruthers,  CA   93609
Phone: (559) 864-8681
Fax: (559) 864-3807
sales@camposbrothers.com

 
Almonds of California
Tom Maino
P.O. Box 1010
Springville,  CA   93265
Phone: (559) 539-3252
Fax: (559) 539-2653
LTomMaino@aol.com
Baldwin Minkler Farms Van Soetaert
P.O. Box 607
Orland,  CA   95963-0607
Phone: (916) 984-4747
Fax: (916) 984-5757
vjsoetaert@aol.com
 
Ballico Bio Farming
John Bayer
P.O. Box 21
Ballico,  CA   95303
Phone: (209) 605-7390
Fax: (209) 634-8590
johntbayer@yahoo.com
 
Barnard Organic Farms
Mike Barnard, Bob Barnard
5318 Faith Home Road
Turlock,  CA   95380
Phone: (209) 634-1886
Fax: (209) 669-9765
barnardorganic@fire2wire.com
 
Stan Barth Farms
Leslie Barth
P.O. Box 508
Esparto,  CA   95627
Phone: (530) 787-4721
Fax: (530) 662-2306
leslie@capaycanyon.com
 
Baugher Ranch Organics
Marcie Baugher
7030 County Road 25
Orland,  CA   95963
Phone: (530) 865-4015
Fax: (530) 865-7931
brporganic@msn.com
 
Beckner Farms
Harmon Beckner
P.O. Box 509
Modesto,  CA   95358
Phone: (209) 522-7825
Fax: (209) 522-3707
 
Big Tree Organic Farms
Wendy Larson
P.O. Box 736
Turlock,  CA   95380
Phone: (209) 669-3678
Fax: (209) 669-3688
wlarson@bigtreeorganic.com
 
Billings Marketing, Inc.
Matt Billings
P.O. Box 1987
Delano,  CA   93216-1987
Phone: (661) 725-1832
Fax: (661) 725-4190
matt@billingsranches.com
 
Blech Almond Packers, Inc.
Duane Blech
P.O. Box 519
Chowchilla,  CA   93610-0519
Phone: (559) 479-1813
Fax: (559) 201-9173
dbalmonds@gmail.com
 
Blue Diamond Growers
Warren Cohen
1802 "C" St.
Sacramento,  CA   95814
Phone: (916) 446-8500
Fax: (916) 446-8332
industrialsales@bdgrowers.com
 
Borges of California
William Ayers
1640 Highway 45
Glenn,  CA   95943
Phone: (530) 934-8200
Fax: (530) 934-7983
wayers@carrierefarms.com
 
Buchanan Hollow Nut Company
Sharlene Robson
6510 S. Minturn Rd.
Le GRand,  CA   95333
Phone: (209) 389-4594
Fax: (209) 389-4321
 
California Almond Packers & Exporters
Andre Esteve
21275 Simpson Road
Corning,  CA   96021
Phone: (530) 824-3836
Fax: (530) 824-3899
 
California Grown Nut Company
Frank Assali
P.O. Box 69
Hughson,  CA   95326
Phone: (209) 883-4081
Fax: (209) 883-0305
frankassali@californiagrown.com
 
California Nut Company
George Tavernas
5166 S. Sperry Rd.
Denair,  CA   95316
Phone: (209) 632-7511
Fax: (209) 632-7056
calnut@calnut.com
 
Campos Brothers
Tony Campos
15516 South Walnut Ave.
Caruthers,  CA   93609
Phone: (559) 864-9488
Fax: (559) 864-3807
sales@camposbrothers.com
 
Capay Canyon Ranch
Leslie Barth
P.O. Box 508
Esparto,  CA   95627
Phone: (530) 787-4721
Fax: (530) 662-2306
leslie@capaycanyon.com
 
Central Valley Processing
Bob Christian
4315 E. Childs Avenue
Merced,  CA   95341
Phone: (209) 723-2950
Fax: (209) 723-4931
cvpbob@aol.com
 
Chico Nut Company
C.C."Skip" Hubbard
P.O. Box 5365
Chico,  CA   95927-5365
Phone: (530) 894-5441
Fax: (530) 894-0233
almonds@chiconut.com
 
Circle M Nut Co.
Jim Monaco
1217 Root Rd.
Modesto,  CA   95357
Phone: (209) 523-6295
Fax: (209) 527-4588
 
D & K Orchards

862 Almond Avenue
,  CA   95912
Phone: (530) 476-2647
Fax: (530) 476-2659
dkorchards@frontiernet.net
 
Del Mar Farms
Brian Wright
P.O. Box 97
Westley,  CA   95387
Phone: (209) 894-5555
Fax: (209) 894-5556
brian@delmarfarms.com
 
Del Rio Nut Company
David Arakelian
P.O. Box 396
Livingston,  CA   95334
Phone: (209) 394-7945
Fax: (209) 394-7955
delrio@evansinet.com
 
A.D.P. DePalma Farms, Inc.
Dominic DePalma
18666 E. Highway 120
Ripon,  CA   95366
Phone: (209) 838-7034
Fax: (209) 838-8011
 
T. M. Duche Nut Co., Inc.
Steve Spellman
1502 S. Railroad Avenue
Orland,  CA   95963
Phone: (530) 865-5511
Fax: (530) 865-7864
Steve@duchenut.com
 
D.V. Enterprises & Co.
Shah
20282 Road 21
Madera,  CA   95209
Phone: (559) 664-8505
Fax: (559) 664-9786
shankar56@aol.com
 
Elk Ridge Almonds, Inc.
Jane Pitman
18252 Avenue 20
Madera,  CA   93637-9730
Phone: (559) 664-0800
Fax: (559) 664-0892
sales@elkridgealmonds.com
 
Fair Trade Corner, Inc.
Mohnish Seth
11591 Meridian Rd.
Chico,  CA   95973
Phone: (530) 566-1405
Fax: (530) 566-1408
sethmohnish@yahoo.com
 
Famoso Nut Company, LLC
Gary Cross
5100 California Ave, Ste 209
Bakersfield,  CA   93309
Phone: (661) 325-9189
Fax: (661) 325-4135
nuts@blueskysales.com
 
Farmers International, Inc.
Versha Seth/Dwarka N. Wadhwa
1260 Muir Avenue
Chico,  CA   95973
Phone: (530) 566-1405
Fax: (530) 566-1408
FarmersInternational@yahoo.com
 
Hendrik Feenstra

6162 Road 200
Orland,  CA   95963
Phone: (530) 865-5254
Fax:
 
Fisher Nut Company
Ron Fisher
137 North Hart Road
Modesto,  CA   95358
Phone: (209) 527-0108
Fax: (209) 527-8616
rfisher@fishernut.com
 
Gold Hills Nut Co., Inc.
Catherine Phipps
11805 Newport Road-PO Box 50
Ballico,  CA   95303
Phone: (209) 634-2022
Fax: (209) 634-0407
cphipps@goldhills.com
 
Golden Gate Nuts, Inc.
Dan Gall
23073 S. Frederick Rd.
Ripon,  CA   95366
Phone: (209) 599-7131
Fax: (209) 599-1531
dan@Goldengatenuts.com
 
Golden West Nuts, Inc.
Miguel Fernandez
1555 Warren Avenue
Ripon,  CA   95366
Phone: (209) 599-6193
Fax: (209) 599-6013
miguel@goldenwestnuts.com
 
Grizzly Nut LLC
Michael Staack
1329 Hazeldean Rd.
Hickman,  CA   95323
Phone: (209) 874-5223
Fax: (209) 874-5242
grizzlynutmike@fire2wire.com
 
Harris-Woolf California Almonds
Paul Veyette
26060 Colusa Rd.
Coalinga,  CA   93210
Phone: (559) 884-2147
Fax: (559) 884-2746
pveyette@hwalmonds.com
 
Hilltop Ranch, Inc.
Paul Ewing
13890 Looney Rd.
Ballico,  CA   95303
Phone: (209) 874-1875
Fax: (209) 874-1877
sales@hilltopranch.com
 
Holland Nut Co.
George Holland
P.O. Box 80
Kerman,  CA   93630
Phone: (559) 846-9377
Fax: (559) 846-9378
 
Hudelson Nut Company, Inc.
Ben Hudelson
P.O. Box 91
Hughson,  CA   95326
Phone: (209) 883-4926
Fax: (209) 883-4946
whudelson@msn.com
 
Hughson Nut, Inc.
Lori Coburn
P.O. Box 1150
Hughson,  CA   95326
Phone: (209) 883-0403
Fax: (209) 883-2973
lori@hughsonnut.com
 
International Almond Exchange Inc.
Manoj Mehtani
144 Westlake Avenue
Watsonville,  CA   95076
Phone: (831) 728-4534
Fax: (831) 786-0465
guru667@aol.com
 
JD Almond Farms, Inc.

11900 E. Monte Vista Ave.
Denair,  CA   95316
Phone: (209) 668-6899
Fax: (209) 668-6890
contactus@jdalmondfarms.com
 
Jenny's Almonds
Dan Crotty
257 Donald Drive
Chico,  CA   95973
Phone: (530) 895-8467
Fax: (530) 895-8467
dan1408@digitalpath.net
 
Jess Smith & Sons Commodities, LLC
Andrew Downie
P.O. Box 1178
Bakersfield,  CA   93302
Phone: (661) 328-5755
Fax: (661) 325-0681
andrew@jesssmith.com
 
Lagier Ranches, Inc.
John Lagier
P.O. Box 89
Escalon,  CA   95366
Phone: (209) 982-5618
Fax: (209) 982-9056
john@lagierranches.com
 
Lakespring Farms
Rod Gray
4424 Hawkins Road
Denair,  CA   95316
Phone: (209) 874-9669
Fax: (209) 874-4166
 
M/T Trading Company, Inc.
Martin Taylor
P.O. Box 265
Madera,  CA   93639
Phone: (559) 661-1556
Fax: (559) 673-7142
 
Maisie Jane's
Maisie Jane Hurtado
1324 Dayton Rd.
Chico,  CA   95928
Phone: (530) 899-7909
Fax: (530) 899-9325
nuts@maisiejanes.com
 
Mandelin Inc.
Attn: Kim Vetsch
P.O. Box 10807
Bakersfield,  CA   93389
Phone: (661) 758-7900
Fax: (661) 397-3050
Kvetsch@Mandelininc.com
 
Mariani Nut Company
John Aguiar
709 Dutton Street
Winters,  CA   95694
Phone: (530) 795-3311
Fax: (530) 795-2681
 
Minturn Nut Company
Dave Hudgins - Keith Rigg
8800 South Minturn Road
LeGrand,  CA   95333
Phone: (559) 665-8500
Fax: (559) 665-8588
keith@minturnnut.com
 
Monte Vista Farming Company
Dan Whisenhunt
P.O. Box 579
Denair,  CA   95316
Phone: (209) 874-1866
Fax: (209) 874-2024
sales@montevistafarming.com
 
Montpelier Nut Co.

1131 12th Street
Modesto,  CA   95354
Phone: (209) 874-5126
Fax: (209) 577-2320
monutco@ainet.com
 
H. Naraghi Farms, Inc.
Miguel Lizarraga
P.O. Box 7
Denair,  CA   95320
Phone: (209) 551-4545
Fax: (209) 551-4544
miguel_naraghifarms@yahoo.com
 
Nichols Pistachio
Brandon Leslie
13762 1st Avenue
Hanford,  CA   93230
Phone: (559) 584-6811
Fax: (559) 688-1603
sales@nicholsfarms.com
 
North Valley Nut, Inc.
Dinesh Bajaj
7418 County Road 24
Orland,  CA   95963
Phone: (530) 865-7286
Fax: (530) 326-2831
natural@globalcrossing.net
 
Nunes Farms Marketing, Inc.
Maureen Nunes
P.O. Box 311
Newman,  CA   95360
Phone: (209) 862-3033
Fax: (209) 862-1038
Almonds@NunesFarms.com
 
Oro Loma Ranch, LLC
Jason Hall
44474 West Nees Avenue
Firebaugh,  CA   93622
Phone: (209) 364-6530
Fax: (209) 364-6549
jason@orolomaranch.com
 
Paddack Hulling & Shelling

27052 East Highway 120
Escalon,  CA   95320
Phone: (209) 838-1536
Fax: (209) 838-8063
 
Panoche Creek Packing, Inc.
Ross Blackburn
3611 West Beechwood, Suite 101
Fresno,  CA   93711
Phone: (559) 449-1721
Fax: (559) 449-9970
 
Paramount Farms, Inc.
Brian Ezell
13646 Hwy 33
Los Angeles,  CA   90064-1544
Phone: (661) 797-6500
Fax: (661) 797-6468
bezell@paramountfarms.com
 
P-R Farms, Inc.
Robert Rocha
2917 East Shepherd Ave.
Clovis,  CA   93611
Phone: (559) 299-7278
Fax: (559) 299-7292
robert@prfarms.com
 
Premier Nut Co., Inc.
John Potter
736 Mariposa Rd., Ste. A
Modesto,  CA   95354
Phone: (209) 894-3322
Fax: (209) 521-7866
john@orchardvalleyharvest.com
 
Premiere Almonds
Brian Tormey
3465 Quail Haven Lane
Carmichael,  CA   95608
Phone: (916) 944-4578
Fax: (916) 944-8421
bctormey@cs.com
 
Prison Industry Authority
Ray Mattesich
P.O. Box 1501
Chowchilla,  CA   93610
Phone: (559) 665-5531 ext. 7420
Fax: (559) 665-4329
 
Purity Organics, Inc.
Steve Koretoff
14900 W. Belmont Ave., #2
Kerman,  CA   93630
Phone: (559) 842-5600
Fax: (559) 842-5601
steve@purityorganics.com
 
Quality Nut Company
Brad Klump
17495 South Seidner
Escalon,  CA   95320
Phone: (209) 838-7049
Fax: (209) 838-7155
exportimport@thevision.net
 
Riverwest Processing, Inc.
Barbara Smith
3190 Highway 45
Glenn,  CA   95943
Phone: (530) 891-5858
Fax: (530) 891-5757
bsmith@riverwestprocessing.com
 
Roberts Ferry Nut Company
Daniel Mallory
20493 Yosemite Blvd.
Waterford,  CA   95386
Phone: (209) 874-3247
Fax: (209) 874-3707
 
Rolling Hills Nut Company, Inc.

P.O. Box 400
Hickman,  CA   95323
Phone: (209) 874-1400
Fax: (209) 874-1414
billyork@pacbell.net
 
Rotteveel Orchards

P.O. Box 579
Dixon,  CA   95620
Phone: (707) 678-1495
Fax: (707) 678-1446
almonds@rotteveel.com
 
RPAC, LLC
Dennis Soares
P.O. Box 2138
Los Banos,  CA   93635
Phone: (209) 826-0272
Fax: (209) 826-3882
dennis@rpacalmonds.com
 
Schaad Family Almonds, Inc.
Kurt Schaad
16471 W. Whitesbridge Rd.
Kerman,  CA   93630
Phone: (559) 846-9677
Fax: (559) 846-9678
sfalmonds@aol.com
 
Select Harvest USA, LLC

14827 W. Harding Rd.
Turlock,  CA   95380
Phone: (209) 668-2471
Fax: (209) 668-4988
 
Sierra Valley Almonds, LLC
Dean Nelson
P.O. Box 278
Kerman,  CA   93630
Phone: (559) 843-9000
Fax: (559) 843-9010
dnelson@svalmonds.com
 
Silver Creek Almond Co., Inc.
Curtis Stubblefield
43940 W. North Ave.
Firebaugh,  CA   93622
Phone: (559) 659-4927
Fax: (559) 659-3147
curtis@bfcoinc.com
 
Sorting Solutions, Inc.
Dee Monette
644 Railroad Ave.
Atwater,  CA   95301-4624
Phone: (209) 358-0658
Fax: (209) 358-0239
djmonette@hotmail.com
 
South Valley Almond Company, LLC
Cody Moore
15443 Beech Avenue
Wasco,  CA   93280
Phone: (661) 391-9000
Fax: (661) 391-9012
cmoore@svfnuts.com
 
Spycher Brothers
Sheryl Wheeler
14827 W. Harding Rd.
Turlock,  CA   95380
Phone: (209) 668-2471
Fax: (209) 668-4988
swheeler@spycherbros.com
 
Stewart & Jasper Marketing, Inc.
Marguerite Bradley
3500 Shiells Rd.
Newman,  CA   95360
Phone: (209) 862-9600
Fax: (209) 862-9611
marg@stewartandjasper.com
 
Sun Valley Nut, Inc.
Steve Warda
P.O. Box 1009
Turlock,  CA   95381
Phone: (209) 669-6400
Fax: (209) 669-1326
SWarda@sunvalleynut.com
 
SunnyGem, LLC
Erin Arduain/Robert Smith
500 North F Street
Kern,  CA   93280
Phone: (661) 758-0491
Fax: (661) 758-0494
earduain@sunnygem.com/rsmith@sunnygem.com
 
Sunrise Almonds, LLC

7014 Road 160
Earlimart,  CA   93219
Phone: (559) 521-5323
Fax: (559) 757-3689
 
Supreme Almonds of California
Tim Bloemhof and/or Randy Bloemhof
16897 Highway 43
Wasco,  CA   93280
Phone: (209) 599-6040
Fax: (661) 746-6479
tim@supremealmonds.com
 
Tejon Ranch Company
Dennis Atkinson
P.O. Box 1000
Lebec,  CA   93243
Phone: (661) 663-4240
Fax: (661) 248-3400
atkinson@tejonranch.com
 
Travaille & Phippen, Inc.
Scott Phippen
12700 East Graves Road
Manteca,  CA   95336
Phone: (209) 599-6111
Fax: (209) 599-4008
scott@travaillephippen.com
 
Treehouse California Almonds, LLC
Jonathan Meyer
P.O. Box 64489
Los Angeles,  CA   90064
Phone: (310) 306-1671
Fax: (310) 306-4427
jonathan@treehousealmonds.com
 
Twin Commodities, Inc.
Steve McManis
6303 Beckwith Road
Modesto,  CA   95358
Phone: (209) 543-9450
Fax: (209) 543-9545
marketing@twincommodities.com
 
Valley Almond Huller, Inc.

25810 Avenue 11
Madera,  CA   93637
Phone: (559) 674-6468
Fax: (559) 674-9531
 
Valley Harvest Nut Co., Inc.
Bob or Toni Conway
3242 S. Carpenter Road
Turlock,  CA   95358
Phone: (209) 538-7766
Fax: (209) 538-7799
janine@valleyharvestnut.com
 
Vanella Farms
Ryan Vanella
3068 Chico Ave.
Chico,  CA   95928
Phone: (530) 342-8313
Fax: (530) 342-7946
 
Vetsch Farms of California, Inc.
Thomas Vetsch
P.O. Box 10627
Bakersfield,  CA   93389
Phone: (661) 758-7904
Fax: (661) 758-7911
tvetsch@mandelininc.com
 
Warda Farms

P.O. Box 787
Delhi,  CA   95315
Phone: (209) 632-3397
Fax: (209) 632-9282
smwarda@gmail.com
 
Waterford Nut Company
Grant Ecker
P.O. Box 37
Waterford,  CA   95386
Phone: (209) 874-2317
Fax: (209) 874-3494
wncnuts@aol.com
Western Nut Company
Tom Motta
1026 Sheridan Avenue
Chico,  CA   95926
Phone: (530) 893-2300
Fax: (530) 893-2320
wnc@westernnut.com
 
Zinke Orchards, Inc.
John or Harvey Zinke
P.O. Box 730
Chowchilla,  CA   93610
Phone: (559) 665-2909
Fax: (559) 665-0648
harveyzinke@sbcglobal.net
 
 


hot deals

Discount Disneyland Tickets


Catalina Flyer